Storytelling tour on the slopes of Croix-Rousse Guided tours

I want to book this tour

I want to book this tour

Departure time

14h

My tickets

Guided tours Croix-Rousse Family Unusual
Tour proposed by Cybèle

Jirôme or one silk worker's revolt

"Our story begins on the morning of 21 November 1831. It was cold in Jirôme’s flat, and he heated some water to make a bowl of toasted barley as a substitute for coffee. That morning, he had to deliver a roll of silk to the banks of the Rhône. He desperately needed the money to feed his children. With his apprentice, Tony “the Simpleton", they decided to go down the hill despite the strike and the associated dangers."

Follow the storyteller-guide down the slopes of Croix-Rousse as they recount the adventures of Jirôme Roquet and his apprentice, Tony “the Simpleton”. The story portrays the daily life of the silk workers, and their revolts, at the same time providing an opportunity to explore the district’s architecture, and hear some of the fascinating tales that make Croix-Rousse such an unusual place.
Experience the spirit of the revolt!

This fictional story brings to life the silk workers’ revolt including historical figures.


Worth knowing

Please ensure you arrive 10 minutes before the tour commences
Booking is necessary
Cancellation free of charge 72 hours before schedule activity
The tour goes down the slopes of Croix-Rousse and ends near the Opera. Not recommended for pushchairs, due to the numerous stairs.
Tour recommended from the age of 8.

Duration

1h15

Kind

Storytelling tour

Access

Metro C > Croix-Rousse

Meeting point

51 rue du bon pasteur - Lyon 1er

Prices
Single price €12.00
Adult (from 16) €15.00
Child (from 6 to 16) €7.50

Canut and Bistanclac!

A "canut" is someone who works with a spool, which is a wooden reel of thread with a metal tip. As this tool struck the loom, a clangour that sounded like "bistanclac-pan" rang out, an onomatopoeia that was soon adopted by the inhabitants of Lyon to refer to Jacquard weaving looms.

Visite contée des pentes de la Croix-Rousse Visites Guidées

Je réserve cette visite

Je réserve cette visite

Heure de départ

14h

Mes places

Visites guidées Croix-Rousse Famille Insolite
Visite proposée par Cybèle

Jirôme ou la révolte d’un canut

"Notre histoire commence le matin du 21 novembre 1831. Il faisait froid dans l’appartement de Jirôme qui fit chauffer de l’eau pour se préparer un bol d’orge grillé en guise de café. Ce matin-là, il devait livrer un rouleau de soie sur les quais du Rhône. Il avait grand besoin d’être payé pour nourrir ses enfants. Avec son apprenti, Tony “le Grand Gognant”, ils décidèrent de descendre la colline malgré la grève et les dangers”

Suivez le guide-conteur dans les pentes de la Croix-Rousse : il vous raconte l’incroyable aventure de Jirôme Roquet, et de son apprenti Tony “le grand Gognant”. Cette aventure vous permet de découvrir la vie quotidienne des canuts, leurs révoltes, mais aussi l’architecture du quartier et les petites anecdotes qui font de la Croix-Rousse ce quartier si atypique.
Émotion et frissons garantis !

Cette histoire fictive redonne vie à la révolte des canuts en incluant des personnages historiques.


Bon à savoir

Merci de vous présenter au rendez-vous 10 minutes avant le départ de la visite
Réservation obligatoire
Annulation sans frais 72h avant la date de prestation
La visite descend les pentes de la Croix-Rousse et termine près de l’Opéra. Déconseillé aux poussettes, en raison des nombreux escaliers.
Visite conseillée à partir de 8 ans

Durée

1h15

Type

Visite contée

Accès

Métro C > Croix-Rousse

Lieu de départ

51 rue du bon pasteur - Lyon 1er

Tarifs
Tarif unique 12,00 €
Tarif adulte (à partir de 16 ans) 15,00 €
Tarif enfant (6 à 16 ans) 7,50 €

Canut et Bistanclac !

Le "canut" est celui qui utilise la canette, un dévidoir à fil en bois à bout ferré. Cette pièce claque sur le métier à tisser et sonne "bistanclac-pan", une onomatopée entrée dans le parler lyonnais pour désigner le métier Jacquard.