Côtes du Rhône, half-day Wine Tours

I want to book this tour

I want to book this tour

Departure time

14h

My tickets

Wine tours Vineyards
Tour proposed by Kanpaï Tourisme

The origins of Syrah and Viognier grapes

Welcome to the northernmost part of the Côtes du Rhône area, land of the legendary Syrah and Viognier grapes. Just 25 minutes south of Lyon, you'll be discovering one of the oldest and steepest vineyards in France, with terraces built during Roman times! Here, you'll be visiting two Côte Rôtie appellation estates: Condrieu and Saint-Joseph, both considered to be among the most prestigious appellations among Côtes du Rhône wines.

On the way, you and your guide Olivier, expert in oenology, will be stopping in Vienne at the vantage point of Notre-Dame de Pipet church, to admire the magnificent panoramic view over the Rhône valley, and the Roman amphitheatre built over 2,000 years ago. You'll then be passing through Ampuis, the world capital of Syrah grapes and gateway to the Côte Rôtie vineyard. The minibus will drive you up the dizzying slopes of the Côte Brune and Côte Blonde vineyards, where you'll have no trouble imagining how difficult it must be for people to work on such steep vine-covered hills.

Your tour will then take you on to Condrieu, which has lent its name to the famous eponymous white wine appellation. Here, you'll be told the history of Viognier grapes, and how they very nearly disappeared a few years ago… Then on to an estate, where you'll be taken round the wine making storehouse and get to discover the unique know-how required to produce wine in the northernmost part of the Côtes du Rhône area. You'll also be given the opportunity to taste 5 different wines, among which the following appellations: St-Joseph, Condrieu and/or Côte Rôtie.
And finally, this oenological tour will then take you to a second winegrowing estate for a guided tasting session of 5 different wines: your opportunity to enjoy the aromatic wealth of Viognier grapes and the complex sensuality of Syrah grapes in their original "terroir".


Worth knowing

Please ensure you arrive 10 minutes before the tour commences.
Booking is necessary
Cancellation free of charge 72 hours before schedule activity
We recommend wearing walking shoes and a warm jacket
Children's car seats are compulsory for children under 8. Please request when booking.
This tour is also available in Spanish,on request
Tasting of at least 10 different wines

Duration

Half-day tour

Kind

Escapade in the Côtes du Rhône vineyards

Access

Metro A or D > Bellecour

Meeting point

In front of the Tourist Office, place Bellecour - Lyon 2nd

Prices
Adult €89.00
Child till 12 €65.00
s

Ever since Antiquity

The sun-drenched hills around Vienne have been producing wine since Antiquity. Côtes Rôties, Condrieu, and wines grown on the hills in Seyssuel have now replaced Vienne's vinum picatum, which Pliny the Elder was so fond of.

Côtes du Rhône en 1/2 journée Excursions Vignoble

Je réserve cette visite

Je réserve cette visite

Heure de départ

14h

Mes places

Découverte du vignoble Vignoble
Visite proposée par Kanpaï Tourisme

Aux origines de la Syrah et du Viognier

Bienvenue dans les Côtes du Rhône Septentrionales, terres des légendaires cépages Syrah et Viognier. À seulement 25 minutes au sud de Lyon, découvrez l'un des vignobles les plus anciens et les plus abrupts de France avec des terrasses construites sous l'époque romaine ! Visitez deux domaines viticoles et dégustez les appellations Côte Rôtie, Condrieu et Saint-Joseph considérées parmi les plus prestigieuses des Côtes du Rhône.

En route, accompagné par votre guide, Olivier ou Justine, tous deux experts en œnologie, faites une halte à Vienne et admirez depuis l’église Notre-Dame de Pipet le magnifique panorama sur la vallée du Rhône et l’amphithéâtre romain construit il y a plus de 2000 ans. Puis vous traversez Ampuis, capitale mondiale de la Syrah et porte d'entrée du vignoble de la Côte Rôtie. Escaladez en minicar les pentes vertigineuses de Côte Brune et Côte Blonde et imaginez le travail des hommes sur ces coteaux abrupts couverts de vignes.

Continuez votre visite vers le village de Condrieu qui donne son nom à la célèbre appellation de vin blanc. Découvrez l'histoire de son cépage, le Viognier. Vous saurez comment il a failli disparaître il y a quelques années... Poussez ensuite la porte d'un domaine viticole : visitez le chai de vinification et découvrez le savoir-faire unique des Côtes du Rhône septentrionales. Puis dégustez 5 vins parmi lesquels les appellations St-Joseph, Condrieu et/ou Côte Rôtie.
Poursuivez cette balade oenologique dans un second domaine par une dégustation commentée de 5 vins également. Savourez la richesse aromatique du Viognier et la sensualité complexe de la Syrah dans leur terroir d'origine.


Bon à savoir

Merci de vous présenter au rendez-vous 10 minutes avant le départ de la visite
Réservation obligatoire
Annulation sans frais 72h avant la date de prestation
Chaussures de marche et veste chaude conseillées.
Des sièges bébé sont obligatoires pour les enfants de moins de 8 ans, merci de le demander lors de la réservation.
Visite possible en espagnol, sur demande.

Durée

1/2 journée

Type

Escapade dans les vignobles des Côtes du Rhône

Accès

Métro A et D > Bellecour

Lieu de départ

Devant le Pavillon du Tourisme, place Bellecour - Lyon 2e

Tarifs
Adulte 79,00 €
Enfant (jusqu'à 12 ans) 65,00 €
s

Depuis l’Antiquité

Les coteaux ensoleillés autour de Vienne sont propices à la viticulture, pratiquée depuis l’Antiquité. Les Côtes-rôties, Condrieu et vins des coteaux de Seyssuel ont succédé au Poissé viennois, qu’appréciait beaucoup Pline l'Ancien.